Platon Technologies
not logged in Login Registration
EnglishSlovak
open source software development celebrating 10 years of open source development! Monday, December 9, 2024
About Us
Magazine
Open Source
CVS
Services
Index  »  Projects  »  phpMyEdit  »  Forum  »  Filtering Drop Down select box items

phpMyEdit Features     Filtering Drop Down select box items
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
 
Denver Dave     Joined: 02 Feb 2003   Posts: 19  
Post Posted: 2003-12-04 23:28
Back to top  Reply with quote     

We have a table of various musical performers and a table that identifies music categories and one that shows performer / category combinations (link table).

When we add a new performer to an event for a certain music category, we currently know what performers perform in that music category, but have to choose from a drop down of all performers for all categories.

Instead of searching a drop down of 100's of performers it sure would be nice to only have the couple dozen that may actually be valid for the current category. Any ideas?

 
michal     Joined: 17 Jun 2003   Posts: 537   Location: Slovakia
Post Posted: 2003-12-05 01:14
Back to top  Reply with quote     

http://opensource.platon.sk/projects/doc.php/phpMyEdit/html/configuration.input-restrictions.html#AEN682

the 'filters' option

but you have to know some information before printing the form to user

 
moi     Joined: 21 Jan 2005   Posts: 12  
Post Posted: 2005-06-08 19:28
Back to top  Reply with quote     

Could I use this to filter one drop down based on the selection of another drop down?

i.e.

Use

$opts['fdd']['col_name']['values']['filters'] = 'id IN DropDownA_Selected'; // optional WHERE clause

instead of

$opts['fdd']['col_name']['values']['filters'] = 'id IN (1,2,3)'; // optional WHERE clause

 
funny     Joined: 15 Jul 2005   Posts: 2  
Post Posted: 2005-07-15 21:56
Back to top  Reply with quote     

I finally managed to understand how to make a dropdown list that takes its values from another table.
Now I have another problem

When I select some option from the dropdown list is it possible for the next field to get its values from yet another table(s) depending on the selected option?

That is to say that:

$opts['fdd']['c3'] = array(
'name' => 'C3',
'select' => 'D',
'maxlen' => 50,
'sort' => true
);
$opts['fdd']['c3']['values']['table'] = 'c3_table';
$opts['fdd']['c3']['values']['column'] = 'value';

If it chooses the first option (red) I would like that the next field to get its values from a "red_table"

If it chooses the second option (yellow) I would like that the next field to get its values from a "yellow_table"
Like this
if SOME_CODE_HERE
{
$opts['fdd']['c4'] = array(
'name' => 'C3',
'select' => 'D',
'maxlen' => 50,
'sort' => true
);
$opts['fdd']['c4']['values']['table'] = ' red_table ';
$opts['fdd']['c4']['values']['column'] = 'value';
}
else
{
$opts['fdd']['c4'] = array(
'name' => 'C3',
'select' => 'D',
'maxlen' => 50,
'sort' => true
);
$opts['fdd']['c4']['values']['table'] = ' yellow_table ';
$opts['fdd']['c4']['values']['column'] = 'value';
}

Is it at all possible?
Thanks in advance for any ideas

 
michal     Joined: 17 Jun 2003   Posts: 537   Location: Slovakia
Post Posted: 2005-07-18 16:24
Back to top  Reply with quote     

easy approach is to have a preselect (on a different page) which will ask "yellow or red?" linking to the main page with ?color=red
on the main page
if($_GET['color']= red {...}
else {...}

however, this will break list/view page.

imho there is no easy way to have consistent list page when joining to two tables as in your case.

if you had date in a single table, with an extra column (red/yellow), you could use 'filters' option.


another question is to have a dhtml/js preselect. which is not doable without hacking main class.

 
tech_one     Joined: 06 Aug 2005   Posts: 2  
Post Posted: 2005-08-06 17:16
Back to top  Reply with quote     

Moi,

Did you find a solution for this? I need to do the same thing.

Mick

moi wrote:
Could I use this to filter one drop down based on the selection of another drop down?

i.e.

Use

$opts['fdd']['col_name']['values']['filters'] = 'id IN DropDownA_Selected'; // optional WHERE clause

instead of

$opts['fdd']['col_name']['values']['filters'] = 'id IN (1,2,3)'; // optional WHERE clause


 
choke     Joined: 15 Aug 2008   Posts: 1  
Post Posted: 2008-08-15 20:35
Back to top  Reply with quote     

Is this feature still pending?
It is very useful to update the options of a drop down box on the fly.

 
davidmartin4797     Joined: 03 Dec 2019   Posts: 62  
Post Posted: 2020-12-22 10:15
Back to top  Reply with quote     

Geek squad tech support provides a Money-Back program when your problem doesn’t get solved. You’ll find our staff to be knowledgeable, friendly, and responsive. All our repairs are guaranteed up to 6 to 12 months and Geek squad has Same-Day Repair Services. We do not charge a single penny if our technicians fail to repair your device. No one other than Geek squad can provide instant & same services at the same reasonable prices.

For more information visit site :- Geek Squad chat

Geek Squad appointment

Geek Squad tech support

 
andrewsaw1     Joined: 07 Sep 2022   Posts: 50  
Post Posted: 2022-09-07 10:30
Back to top  Reply with quote     

For whatever feature you want for your home or business, natural stone will always get the attention of guests.
Fontana Concrete Company

 
jognahartu     Joined: 06 Dec 2021   Posts: 2264  
Post Posted: 2023-01-28 15:28
Back to top  Reply with quote     

Thanks for your post. I’ve been thinking about writing a very comparable post over the last couple of weeks, I’ll probably keep it short and sweet and link to this instead if thats cool. Thanks. red bost

 
jognahartu     Joined: 06 Dec 2021   Posts: 2264  
Post Posted: 2023-01-29 10:12
Back to top  Reply with quote     

Absolutely stunning jacket. The quality is incredible for the price range. I really appreciate that the company is deciding to put the customer’s needs first with going out if their way to may you feel special and important. You are treated like you in a higher end market. 100% recommend and will be purchasing from them again. Custom Leather Jackets NYC

 
Hatell1974     Joined: 23 Apr 2022   Posts: 266  
Post Posted: 2023-02-09 12:15
Back to top  Reply with quote     

Filtering Drop Down select box items can be used to filter the drop down list of elements. Here you check this gutter cleaning, and get more new ideas for layers. Filter validation rules can be defined such that only the values specified in the list form may be input into drop-down list.

 
MIA KHALIFA     Joined: 27 Oct 2022   Posts: 5905  
Post Posted: 2023-12-04 08:44
Back to top  Reply with quote     

You happen to be permitted to article labels, and not backlinks, until these are accredited along with in theme. cricket casino

 
deriel     Joined: 09 Aug 2023   Posts: 759  
Post Posted: 2023-12-05 11:02
Back to top  Reply with quote     

I'm just seriously able to obtain this blog plus have love looking through handy reports created listed here. A strategies of your article writer appeared to be magnificent, with thanks for any promote. Kuliah gratis di Universitas Budi Luhur

 
gill34051     Joined: 06 Dec 2023   Posts: 3  
Post Posted: 2023-12-06 14:15
Back to top  Reply with quote     

When we add a new performer to an event for a certain music category, we currently know what performers perform in that music category, but have to choose from a drop down of all performers for all categories.

Instead of searching a drop down of 100's of performers it sure would be nice to only have the couple dozen that may actually be valid for the current category.
https://routerlogin.ltd/
https://pikashow.ltd/web-28/

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  

Copyright © 2002-2006 Platon Group
Site powered by Metafox CMS
Go to Top · Feedback form · Application form
Report bug on PLATON.SK website · Terms of use · Privacy policy